Great Moments in Homophones

by

Listening to this week’s NFL preview from the other room, I heard a commercial for something called “Ass Effects.”  I wasn’t paying much attention, but they just kept repeating it: Ass Effects, Ass Effects, Ass Effects.

Then they said, “Ask your doctor if Ass Effects is right for you.”  Huh?

So I hopped up and dashed to the living room just in time to catch the very end:  Aciphex.

Who thought this was a good idea?

(I would also like to point out that the spell-checker doesn’t know the word “dashed.”)

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Great Moments in Homophones”

  1. alsturgeon Says:

    But it surely knows Ass Effects.

    If Aciphex turns out to be a dangerous product, I pray to God I get to try that case someday.

  2. mrspeacock Says:

    Heh… I actually take 9 of those a day. No joke. I’ll let you know if my flesh starts rotting off, Al. Perhaps I will be the answer to your prayer!

  3. alsturgeon Says:

    Oh, I hope you survive, Mrs. P!!! And I don’t wish it goes bad!!!

    But if it does, just let me know. I can only imagine the fun that could be had saying the product’s name day after day in trial. 🙂

  4. urbino Says:

    I guess it sucks to have to take 9 of any medicine every day, Mrs.P, but at least this one’s good for a thousand little jokes to cheer one up.

    Yes, I imagine that trial would be quite entertaining, Al.

  5. jazzbumpa Says:

    Ass effects aside, Sport announcers are on an incidental quest to destroy the English language.

    What do you say to your TV when the n air idiot says, “If yo’re the Pittsbufgh Steelers . . .

    Cheers!
    JzB the ass effected trombonist

  6. mrspeacock Says:

    Would you believe the hilarity of the drug’s name has never crossed my mind? Not once! Of course, I mispronounced it for years (with a long a), but I’ve know the correct way to say it for quite some time now. Thank you for bringing newfound joy to my daily routine!

  7. urbino Says:

    Would you believe the hilarity of the drug’s name has never crossed my mind?

    Not for one second, Miss Woodcock Johnson test.

    (BTW, bringing joy is one of my best things. Everyone knows this. Sometimes it even has ass effects.)

Leave a Reply

