C-Love’s Pop Picks

by

Best Music I’ve Heard: NPR is streaming the new album from The Swell Season. You might recognize them as the two lovebirds of “Once” fame. I’m also completely taken with Brandi Carlile’s Give Up the Ghost. Listen to “Dying Day.”

Best Live Music I’ve Seen: Girl Talk was completely insane, but I’m glad I experienced it. He’s a digital composer on the fly (like a highly complex more talented DJ), and his concert is one big rave. If you’re not dancing at a Girl Talk concert, someone will grab you and force you to dance. Clearly, it’s not for everyone. But it was my niece’s 18th birthday, and we had a blast.

Girl Talk in concert

Girl Talk in concert

Best TV I’ve Seen: I’m giving it to White Collar, the new show on USA.  I’m a huge fan of Psych on USA (as is Coach Al), so I figured I’d give this one a try. Matt Bomer plays a white collar criminal partnering with the FBI to solve, what else, white collar crimes. It’s like the TV version of “Catch Me If You Can.” And for what it’s worth, Matt Bomer has fabulous hair.

Also Enjoyed: The Firefly shout-out on Castle. Love me some Nathan Fillion.

Best Movie I’ve Seen: September Issue, a documentary that follows the making of the September issue of Vogue. A good portion of the film focuses on Anna Wintour, the editor-in-chief and supposed inspiration behind “The Devil Wears Prada.” But the far more interesting character is the Creative Director Grace Coddington. She’s phenomonally talented, hilarious, and the only one doesn’t fall at Wintour’s feet. She’s the Stanley Tucci to Anna’s Meryl Streep, if you will.

Also Enjoyed: Where the Wild Things Are. It was a little slow, but the visuals and music kept me interested. Does anyone else think Max looks exactly like a young boy version of Ellen Page?

Best Book I’ve Read: I’m currently reading and loving Three Cups of Tea. It tells the true story of Greg Mortenson, a mountain climber who became lost and wandered into a remote village after a failed attempt to summit K2. He was so touched by the hospitality of the people there, he promised he would return and build a school. He kept his promise and went on to build 130 more schools in Central Asia. I’ve been thinking lately about certain people who impact society so significantly, and it has struck me that these earth-shakers don’t have any specials skills that the rest of us are lacking. Unless you count passion and a singular purpose as skills. They’re just people. It’s both inspiring and convicting.

One Response to “C-Love’s Pop Picks”

  1. urbino Says:

    Good stuff, C-Love.

    I’m a-feared of Where the Wild Things Are. It looks so bittersweetly nostalgic/adorable in a “Simple Holiday Joys” kind of way that it’d put me in a funk till sometime after Easter.

    That beasty cradling Max and howling in the commercial nearly does it all by itself.

Leave a Reply

