Your Grief, My Green

by

I’m sitting here waiting for a delivery man to show up, with MSNBC on in the other room.  They keep replaying the poor mother of that kidnapped girl going absolutely to pieces while talking about her daughter.

I understand why the media run the video of parents publicly appealing to kidnappers for the safe return of their child.  Sometimes it works, apparently.  So that’s an actual service by news media like MSNBC.  But the tape they keep playing — “pimping” might be a better word — is of the mother so broken down in sobs that she can barely breathe; you can’t even understand what she’s saying.

Just play the early part where she’s making clear appeals to the kidnapper.  She’s clearly struggling to contain her emotions in that part, too, so the appeal to the kidnapper’s humanity is there, but she is containing them and she’s comprehensible.  Is there really a need to make a spectacle of her grief once she has completely broken down?

It strikes me as exploitation for a buck, rather than trying to help.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Your Grief, My Green”

  1. jazzbumpa Says:

    I’ve actually imagined myself in some sort of horrible situation, being asked inane, stupid, prying questions by the uninvited news hound who shows up with a camera crew at my door, and imagined myself shoving the microphone down his/her/its esophagus.

    JzB the bad fantasy trombonist

  2. urbino Says:

    Maybe you should see somebody about this, jb. Talk things out. 🙂

  3. jazzbumpa Says:

    That’s what I have you for, JU

    Cheers!
    JzB the I come here for my mental health trombonist

  4. urbino Says:

    Boy, are you in trouble!

Leave a Reply

