C-Love’s Pop Picks

by

Best Live Music I Heard: I have to give it to Willie Nelson singing “City of New Orleans.” One of my favorite musicians singing one of my favorite songs. Hearing it with my dad, who introduced me to both the song and the artist, just made it sweeter.
A Close Second: The Avett Brothers are easily my favorite live band. I’m still hyped up from their concert last week where they played some brilliant stuff from their new album. It comes out today! (They also performed on Letterman last night, in case you caught it.)

Best New Music I Heard: As much as I hate to admit it, I’m loving the Pete Yorn / Scarlett Johanssen “Break Up” album. I was skeptical about her singing abilities, but she holds her own. However, it’s the songwriting that’s the real star here.

Best TV I’ve Seen: Flash Forward definitely kept my attention, and I’m interested to see how it unfolds. I especially want to see more of the mentor who now believes his daughter is alive. Plus, it’s got Sulu! Also, props to The Big Bang Theory and Community for making me laugh out loud.

Best Movie I’ve Seen: I’m behind on the movie viewing, but I did see Star Trek for the fourth time (thus the Sulu reference). It’s still awesome.

Best Thing I’ve Read: I’m still working my way through all of the young adult novels my mom has given to me. I’m currently on In Mozart’s Shadow, a novel told from the perspective of Mozart’s older sister, who happens to be quite the music prodigy herself. Of course, when your brother is composing symphonies at 10, you do tend to get overshadowed. It’s a bit redundant and slow at times, but I’m learning much more about the Mozart family. I wonder what “label” young Mozart would be given today. OCD? ADD? Autism? He’s tapped into some piece of his brain that we simply can’t get to.

5 Responses to “C-Love’s Pop Picks”

  1. alsturgeon Says:

    Thanks, Mrs. P!!!

    BEST T-SHIRT IDEA STOLEN FROM MRS. P: http://www.cafepress.com/randor/1325013

  2. mrspeacock Says:

    What?!?!? I can’t believe it. I should start marketing these brilliant ideas more. 🙂

  3. michaellasley Says:

    I watched The Informant. I can’t tell you how much I wanted to see that movie. I made my friends go to three different theaters because we kept arriving about 5 minutes late. I ended up buying the tickets and foodstuffs for the two poor friends to make up for making them drive all over LA for this movie when really we coulda just stopped and watched something else. And then the movie ended up being simply okay, not the great comedy I’d wished for. And I’m being fairly generous. People in the theater were vocally pissed off during the movie because it was so slow in some parts. People actually groaning and doing those little grunt-sighs.

    Pearl Jam’s new album is worth getting. Except it’s only about half an hour long, so you don’t get all that much for your money. But what you do get is really good.

    How’s The Office this year? I haven’t seen it yet.

  4. mrspeacock Says:

    Oh no! I was so excited about the Informant. Matt Damon lookin’ all schlumpy and hilarious. Now I’m thinking it might have to be a cheap movie.

    I’ll check out the new Pearl Jam. I never got into them in high school, so I kinda feel like I’ve missed out on one of the defining bands of my generation.

    The Office has started out great. They’re doing some good stuff with Jim and Pam’s wedding plans, but the funniest moments are with Andy (as usual). Thankfully, they’re not doing hour-long episodes this time. I was not a fan of those last season.

  5. michaellasley Says:

    I actually liked The Informant, but I think most of that was due to me wanting to like it so much. It is slow. It doesn’t exactly have what you’d call the smoothest of plots — it jumps forward in time and leaves out some details that you kind of have to piece together. And it’s not really a comedy. Yes — find it at a cheap theater in a few months or rent it.

    The PJ album might not be for everyone….I don’t think it’ll win over fans who don’t like them. But it’s got some good songs on it.

    I still haven’t watched the last few episodes of last year’s Office. And I missed Community last week.

Leave a Reply

