My DVR Is Drooping From All This Added Weight

by

The premiere season is upon us, people! Here’s a round-up of the new shows I’m most excited about:

1. Community – NBC, premieres Thursday, 09/17, 8:30 p.m.

I, along with 3/4 of the female population, have a hankering for Joel McHale, current host of The Soup. In Community, he plays a lawyer forced to attend community college when it’s discovered his degree is phony.

One of my favorite exchanges:

“I thought you had a bachelor’s from Columbia.”

“Now I have to get one from America.”

It costars Chevy Chase and a host of comedians you’ve seen elsewhere but have never learned their names.

2. Flash Forward – ABC, premieres Thursday, 09/24, 7:00 p.m.

For 2 minutes, 17 seconds, the entire earth blacks out and catches a glimpse of themselves 6 months in the future. Some are thrilled at what they see, some are confused, and some are terrified that they saw nothing. Will they try to change their future? Will their efforts cause the very future they’re trying to change? How very “Lost.” Check it out.

3. Glee – FOX, Wednesdays @ 8:00 p.m.

Oh, how I love this show. True, they lay the cheese on pretty thick, but they make up for it with the hilarious and diabolical cheerleading coach, the adorable red-headed OCD counselor,  and the insanely talented cast of teenagers.

4. The Biggest Loser – NCB, premieres Tuesday, 7:00 p.m.

Okay, so it’s not a new show, BUT my friend Holly actually knows one of the contestants this cycle! Which makes it even better than a new show. His name is Sean Algaier.  You can meet him here.

5. Modern Family – ABC, premieres Wednesday, 09/23, 8:00 p.m.

ABC sums it up as “One Big Straight Gay Multi-cultural Traditional Happy Family Comedy,” and I really can’t do any better. Check it out here.

We’ll see if they all live up to my expectations. Fingers crossed (and legs propped up on the coffee table).

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My DVR Is Drooping From All This Added Weight”

  1. michaellasley Says:

    Community seems to have all sorts of potential for hilarity. I’m looking forward to it. And Flash Forward could be interesting, as well.

    I was reading something the other day about TV shows this fall….seems like there are a lot of fairly big-named actors turning to tv. Ok….not huge names, but people you’d usually think of in movie roles rather than on tv. Is that the case? Or am I just so far out of touch with entertainment that I don’t even know what actors are big names?

  2. jazzbumpa Says:

    Here’s a line up of the new shows I’m most excited about:
    .
    .
    (crickets)

  3. alsturgeon Says:

    Thanks, Mrs. P!!!!!

    Have to say that anything with Chevy Chase in it is immediately of interest to me. Except Maryland.

    Oh, and the ladies at my house always watch Biggest Loser, so I usually have an interest in that show. We’ll be rooting for Holly’s friend this year.

    Truth be told, however, law school doesn’t allow me to follow any television show regularly (although I do make time for football). I like knowing what’s coming up, however. So, you know, I can be hip and all. 🙂

    BTW, is there a bluegrass equivalent to Kanye West? 🙂

  4. mrspeacock Says:

    seems like there are a lot of fairly big-named actors turning to tv…Is that the case?
    I heard a segment on Fresh Air about this very thing. Specifically, it was about how “regular” actors are finding it harder than ever to make a living. One primary reason is because so many movie actors are moving to television (Matthew Fox, Glenn Close, Laurence Fishburne, etc). They command higher salaries, so there’s not much left for the others.

    BTW, is there a bluegrass equivalent to Kanye West?
    A moron with a banjo? Oh, I’m sure they’re out there somewhere…

  5. alsturgeon Says:

    LOL! New name for bluegrass band: Morons With Banjos.

Leave a Reply

