Newsflash!

by

Brett Favre unretired and is returning to the NFL!

In other news, at 6:20 local time this morning, the sun rose.  Unconfirmed reports indicate it happened in the east.

In a league famous for its narcissists, Favre really does set a new standard.  He doesn’t care about the other players on the teams he teases, turns down, then decides to join during the pre-season.  They don’t figure in his decisions.  He doesn’t like them or want to spend any more time with them than necessary, as he admitted during his last unretirement, with the Jets.  He only considers whether Brett Favre would like to play another season.

Note that that doesn’t include participating in OTAs and training camp, like everybody else.  Brett Favre knows whether or not he wants to do that: he doesn’t.  It was one of his main gripes last year.  This year, he teased the Vikings, then declared right before training camp that he would stay retired.  Conveniently, now that all that bothersome off-season stuff is over, he’s had an entirely sincere change of heart and has joined the Vikings.

Don’t get me wrong.  If teams like the Vikings weren’t willing to sell their souls to Favre, all this self-absorbed unretiring wouldn’t be happening.  But the origin of that trope is, of course, people selling their souls to the Devil, and we don’t exactly excuse the Devil in those transactions.

To end on an up note: man, did the Packers ever make the right decision.  Here’s hoping they win their division this year.

Tags:

9 Responses to “Newsflash!”

  1. jazzbumpa Says:

    Don’t forget, that division contains the might LIONS!

    But, yeah. I’ve lost all respect for Favre. It wouldn’t be as bad if he had gone to — oh, I don’t know — the Oakland Raiders, frex. But the Vikings are the same division as the Pack, and Favre was there for about 85 years.

    This really is horrible.

  2. urbino Says:

    That’s a big part of Favre’s motivation this time: to stick it to the Packers while playing for their arch-rival. He really didn’t appreciate them making the right decision not to let him re-join the team after his first retirement (first actual retirement, that is, not all the kabuki retirements before that).

    Michael Vick and Brett Favre. ‘Tis the season for drama queen quarterbacks, I guess.

  3. Terry A. Says:

    From what I’ve read, I seriously think Vick’s approval ratings are way higher than Favre’s right now.

  4. urbino Says:

    Huh. I hadn’t heard anything along those lines.

  5. Terry A. Says:

    Perhaps some hyperbole on my part.

    But outside ESPN’s bubble, the national media are taking aim at Favre’s annual will-he-won’t-he saga. He’s gotten terrible press since signing with the Vikes, and deservedly so.

    Vick seems to want to keep his profile low and just play football, hoping he’s still got enough magic left to make people forget the other stuff.

    If Favre were smart (ha!), he’d get Tony Dungy in his corner, stat.

  6. jazzbumpa Says:

    Wow. A new phrase has entered the lexicon:

    kabuki retirement.

    Genuinely brilliant!

    Alas, having undergone a real retirement, I’ll probably never get a chance to use it.

    (sigh)

  7. urbino Says:

    You could do some kabuki comebacks, maybe.

    What do you do, anyway, jb? Spend all your time hugging the squid? (I think that’s how you put it.)

  8. jazzbumpa Says:

    I rather spontaneously came up with “flaming squid hugger” one day while commenting at Bouphonia.

    http://bouphonia.blogspot.com/2009/02/electricity-plus-water.html

    Now I use squid hugging as a term of general despair when thrust up against reichfluegel-nuttery.

    I am retired from the auto industry, as of last November. I’m an active amateur musician, playing big band jazz, symphonic, and concert band music. I’m the President of my subdivision homeowners’ board. I’m still active on one industry committee. I write music

    http://jazzbumpa.tumblr.com/post/66302239/fugue-on-a-dowland-fantasia-several-years-ago-i

    and weird poetry.

    http://jazzbumpa.tumblr.com/post/67988974/meditations-at-keyboard

    I blog, therefore I am snarky and indulge myself in anti-conservative polemic. I work crossword puzzles. I am a devoted huband and grandfather.

    Probably more than you wanted to know. But asking contains such risks.

    JzB the eclectic trombonist

  9. urbino Says:

    Hellz, that’s more than I do, and I’m not retired. I hope to be as engaged and involved when I do retire. Atta go.

    And thanks for the links.

Leave a Reply

