Milestone

by

On a personal note, Wednesday was something of a milestone for me: exactly one year since I last drove a car.

Having biked year-round, I’ve now proven to myself that going carless is a realistic, manageable lifestyle choice.  Maybe it’s time to sell the ol’ heap.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Milestone”

  1. alsturgeon Says:

    Congratulations! I think that is quite an accomplishment, along with being quite an example, too.

  2. urbino Says:

    Danke! Whether or not it’s an accomplishment, I dunno, but it’s certainly something I did — there’s no arguing with that. I have, by sheer luck, the good fortune of living within a few miles of everything I need on any kind of regular basis — work, groceries, etc., and mostly without having to ride on any major thoroughfares. Plus, I have no life, so I pretty much never go out for any kind of social occasion. All that makes the cycling lifestyle a good deal more attainable, especially for an old fart like me.

    But it’s the nearest thing to an accomplishment I can claim for the past, oh, 10 years of my life, so I’ll take it.

  3. jazzbumpa Says:

    Geez.

    My aging mother* and mother in law live about 75 miles down I-75. I routinely have activities that take me 10 to 20 miles from my humble domicile. I really could not live without a car.

    And the Stow-N-Go fold away seats in my lovely wife’s minivan are perfect for storing pearls.

    But, congrats. You really have accomplished something
    ________________________
    Yes, I too am an old fart.

Leave a Reply

