Pop Culture Round-Up

by

Best Movie I’ve Seen: Sunshine Cleaning, primarily because of Amy Adams’ skill at playing the pretty girl with absolutely no sense of self worth. The preview sells the movie as a kind of dark comedy, but it’s far more depressing than funny. When she needs money to send her son to private school, Adams’ character decides to start a business cleaning up crime scenes (wiping up blood, discarding pieces of flesh, etc.). She enlists her sister to help, and the experience leads them both in new directions. Emily Blunt is great as the unfocused sister, but my favorite casting choice is Clifton Collins as the one-armed man working at the cleaning supplies plant.

I also enjoyed: Monsters vs. Aliens in 3D. Saw it twice, in fact.

Looking forward to: The Soloist, the true story of a mentally ill cello genius discovered living on the streets by a journalist. It stars Jamie Foxx and Robert Downey, Jr., so I have high hopes.

Best TV I’ve watched: Prison Break, Season 1. I’ve seen the thing 3 times now, but my roomie was a PB virgin. We’ve decided it’s an unintentional chick show what with all the hot men in tattoos.

I also enjoyed: Lost (Faraday’s baaaack!). I’ve also loved this season of Idol soley because of Adam Lambert. And Quentin Tarantino’s bizarre turn as a guest judge last week.

Best Thing I’ve Read: I finally bought the boxed set of Harry Potter, so I’ve been rereading those. I’ve been doing quite of bit of revisiting past favorites lately.

Best Thing I Heard: Danny Boy at the Celtic Woman concert. The whole experience is a little over the top for me, but Danny Boy was impossibly beautiful. I believe I cried.

I also enjoyed: I’m listening to Matt Kearney right now, and I’m liking it.

6 Responses to “Pop Culture Round-Up”

  1. michaellasley Says:

    How was the Soloist?

    I actually thought about re-reading Harry Potter. Before the latest movie comes out. But I doubt I have time.

    Lost is still great. I’m a couple of seasons behind on Prison Break. I loved the first season….the second was ok. I haven’t seen anything beyond that.

    The new Dylan comes out today! I haven’t listened to anything overly interesting lately.

    Reading….A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore. I don’t know why. Picked it up and next thing I knew I was 100 or so pages in. It’s a quick read. Good for a laugh every couple of pages. Alex Garland’s The Tesseract was really, really good. Three different stories woven together in sort of a loosely novel looking thing. Interesting perspectives on life in the Philippines. And then a couple of baseball books, with it being the beginning of baseball season and all. Buster Olney’s The Last Night of the Yankee Dynasty is really, really interesting, if you’re a baseball fan. I don’t even like the Yankees.

  2. mrspeacock Says:

    I haven’t gotten to see The Soloist yet, but I’m hoping to this week. I’ll let you know how many stars I give it.

    Don’t waste your time going past season 2 of Prison Break, and certainly quit before you get to season 4. I loved the 1st season, but it’s all downhill from there.

    I didn’t even realize a new Dylan CD was coming out until yesterday! The review I read was positively glowing, though.

    Actually, the best thing I’ve heard recently was the EMI CD my brother gave me. He’s the head of the EMI (Entertainment/Music Industries) program at Lambuth, and the CD is completely written, played, recorded, and produced by Lambuth students. It’s fantastic and quite impressive. It’s been on repeat in my car since Sunday.

  3. michaellasley Says:

    Now that I’m relieved of having to watch Prison Break Season 3…..well, it was on my list of things to watch (not even joking), so I just crossed it off and now feel like I’ve accomplished just whole lots today.

    Paste was streaming the Dylan cd today, so I listened to it a few times on their site. I liked it….probably buy it sometime soon.

    I’m continually shocked, btw, that people actually watch Lost. I like it quite a lot, but it is weird in a way that I’d think people’d find off-putting. Shows what I know about people’s taste.

    JU — you ever break down and watch 30 Rock?

    • urbino Says:

      Can’t say that I have. I’m still at work when it’s on, and don’t really have time to add a show to my lineup, even if I weren’t.

      • michaellasley Says:

        I usually just catch it on the weekends on hulu or nbc’s website. Whenever I have 23 minutes to spare.

        Are you watching anything new lately?

  4. mrspeacock Says:

    Prison Break right now is baaaad. Very bad. I’m only watching it because I have some weird need to see it through to the end.

    I agree with you about Lost. People that I thought would HATE that show love that show. I think part of that is because they downplayed the sci-fi stuff at first and focused on the characters. Now everyone is sucked in.

    Since you mentioned 30 Rock… has it gotten less and less funny to you? They haven’t been focusing enough on Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin, in my opinion. The other characters don’t make me laugh out loud. But I did hear that Rhett Miller will be on an upcoming episode. Weee!

Leave a Reply

