Rix Pix

by

Tom Ricks picks 10 books anyone interested in military history should read.  He quotes from his pick on the Korean War: “You may fly over a land forever, you may bomb it, atomize it, pulverize it and wipe it clean of life — but if you desire to defend it, protect it and keep it for civilization, you must do this on the ground, the way the Roman legions did, by putting your young men into the mud.”

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Rix Pix”

  1. DeJon05 Says:

    Interesting… as a fellow who was privy to more Aerospace-Doctrine conversations that I found preferable, I always thought the Air Force folks were really overselling the capabilities of airpower. And I think its limitations have been exposed over the last 7+ years.

    Also, I’ve read “With the Old Breed” and “Band of Brothers,” and while I found both books to be rich with historical insight and military-ness, that’s not why I loved them. (And love them I did.) I loved them for the personal nature of the stories. The “characters” are real people. Reading these book is as close as I’ve ever come to kinetic combat, and just this well-written glimpse in to the realities left me changed profoundly.

    I don’t see how anyone who experienced the realities exposed in “…Old Breed” and “Band of Brothers” can ever be a self-identifying “war hawk.” That’s not bad politics, it’s lunacy.

  2. alsturgeon Says:

    Haven’t read a whole lot in this genre, but I did read “We Were Soldiers Once – And Young” (later made into a Mel Gibson movie), and I was thoroughly impressed. By the writing. By the astounding memory of the writer/combatants. And by the story.

Leave a Reply

