Pop Culture Round-Up

by

Best Movie I Saw: I’m sad to report there is not a Best Movie this installment, simply because the only movie I’ve seen at the theater recently was Watchmen. Which leads me to…

Worse Movie I Saw: Watchmen. We’ve seen so many superhero movies done right recently, I was shocked at how very wrong they got this one. True, I haven’t read the book, so I’m not a rabid Watchmen fan to start with. But when the greatest part of your movie is the opening credits, then something has gone horribly wrong. The biggest low point to me was the soft core scene b/t Plasticy Girl and That Other Guy in the weird owl ship with Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” providing the background music. Ugh. The real tragedy is that Rorschach was such an interesting character played fabulously by Jackie Earle Haley. He needed more screen time. Any Watchmen lovers out there who feel the need to defend the film?

Best TV Show I Watched: LOST. It’s always LOST.  I’ve also been enjoying this season of… wait for it… American Idol. I’m not typically a viewer, but I actually voted last week. For the guy who did the bizarre Indian version of “Ring of Fire.” Crazy, I know. He’s like a gay version of Satan. I love it.

Best Thing I Heard: Everything at the Ryan Adams & the Cardinals concert. This was possibly the best sound I’ve ever heard live. The set included super old favorites (Lucy, my Gal!) and great newbies (the opener, Let It Ride). The problem with any Ryan Adams concert is that I want to hand pick every tune. This one didn’t have enough oldies for me, but I’ll take what I can get any time.

Best Thing I Read: I’ve been in the process of packing/unpacking everything I own, so I’m currently reading the first thing I pulled out of the book box. It’s written for pre-teen/ young teen girls, and it’s called “Princess Academy.” Not great literature by any means, but it’s fun to remember what everything felt like at 13.

11 Responses to “Pop Culture Round-Up”

  1. DeJon05 Says:

    Ryan Adams!? Jealousy becomes me. Was he well behaved?

  2. mrspeacock Says:

    Haha, I’m happy to report there were no bizarre outbursts. However, the band was plagued by monitor problems and even took a 10 minute break in the middle of the set to work on them. I believe his exact words were, “There’s all kinds of s*#! going on with our f*$!@%! monitors, so we’re going to take a break and fix the f$!#@! s#!$! monitors so we can play a great set for you guys.” Which was really nice for Ryan Adams, I thought.

  3. Whitney Says:

    “gay version of Satan” is a line I might have to steal for future use. 🙂

  4. DeJon05 Says:

    At the risk of perpetuating my reputation of failing to stay on topic, I recently discovered two things that I must share.

    The first is pop culture related, but thanks to the wonderful gift of Pandora (pandora.com) I started to realize that one particular artist and one particular album stopped me in my tracks every time one of his songs played. I am now getting over my bitterness for missing out for the last ten years on David Gray’s album White Ladder. The track list could be a greatest hits, but it’s not.
    1) Please Forgive Me [brilliant]
    2) Babylon [Life changing]
    3) This Year’s Love [The epitome of heart break & made it on Gray’s Anatomy–so I’m told]
    4) My Oh My [good, not great]
    5) We’re Not Right [See “My Oh My”]
    6) Night Blindness [Best track IMO]
    7) Silver Lining [solid]
    8) White Ladder [better than solid]
    9) Sail Away [I bet you’ve heard it, and I bet you love it]
    10) Say Hello, Wave Goodbye [Another classic]
    11) Babylon Reprise [Better than the original]

    So yeah… a classic album of incomparable quality. Released in 1999, and I was too busy being dumb to find it until now.

    Second… I finally gave in an joined Twitter. If you’re Twitter enabled, I’d love to follow. You can find me at http://www.twitter.com/dejonredd

  5. mrspeacock Says:

    Oooh, yes, the White Ladder album. Somebody loaned it to me back in my college days and I vividly remember hearing it for the first time. I actually like Bonnie Raitt’s cover of “Silver Lining” better than the original. Check it out if you haven’t already.

    Do you have his later albums? Two of my favorite off of those are “Caroline” and “Be Mine.”

    Steal away, Whitney. 🙂

  6. michaellasley Says:

    He has a DVD that he released during the tour for that album that is really good. Because his early music is hit and miss — but he does a few of those songs on that DVD, and they are wonderful live (Shine, Lead Me Upstairs, Flame Turns Blue). Don’t, whatever you do, buy his “Lost Songs” album. But the album C-Love mentions — with Caroline and Be Mine and Meet Me on the Other Side and Freedom (I think they’re all on the same one) — is really good.

    I love the line in Say Hello, Wave Goodbye: “So take off that unbecoming frown.”

    I haven’t seen Watchmen. Don’t really plan to see it. I’m one episode behind on Lost, but it is excellent.

  7. mrspeacock Says:

    I couldn’t remember if they were on the same album, but you’re right. They’re on “A New Day at Midnight.”

  8. urbino Says:

    Did Adams play “Summer of ’69”? (That joke never gets old.)

    Seen: HBO’s “Deadwood,” which I’m rewatching. Milch writes the living daylights out of that show. And even though the 3rd (final) season goes a little sideways, if Tim Olyphant could act at all, I’d call it the best show in the history of TV. But since he can’t, it’s first runner-up to “The Wire.”

    Heard: Haven’t been listening to much music lately. Springsteen’s “Pete Seeger Sessions” would probably get my vote. It’s a hoot.

    Read: I’d like to be able say Niall Ferguson’s The Ascent of Money, a history of the western financial system, is the best thing I’ve read. That’s because it’s what I’ve been reading lately. Unfortunately, however, I have to say I haven’t read anything good lately. Ferguson’s book starts off very strong, but then he gets sidetracked into long digressions about the history of inflation in Argentina and of the first publicly held company. I can see why he includes those topics, but the level of detail he goes into adds nothing of value. Touch on them, make your point, and move along, Mr. Ferguson. (Don’t books have editors, anymore?)

  9. DeJon05 Says:

    More about The Boss… and pop culture. I finally caught up with “High Fidelity” last week while on Spring Break. I loved it.

    Before I watched I was not a Jack Black fan. I now am. But I also loved Springsteen’s cameo… seen here

  10. DeJon05 Says:

    Or maybe here

Leave a Reply

