Currently Reading

by

I’m off for Spring Break in a few hours. One more class. I’m mean. I’m giving a quiz in a 2:00 class on the Friday Spring Break begins. When did I become that professor?

A few things I’m reading lately. Flannery O’Connor’s Wiseblood, which I’ve read a couple times before. It’s eat-up with good. I made a deal with myself round about the new year that I would read a little of William Vollmann’s Europe Central everyday. It’s a long-ish book, and it’s not an easy read, and I would never make time to just sit down and read it at the beach. So I’m slowly making my way through it. It’s more or less about the period between the two world wars. It tells the lives of a few people from both Russia and Germany. Artists. I’m not sure why, yet, but he focuses on artists of some sort or other. This isn’t the easiest of reads, which I don’t mind. What I do mind is that it’s not all that enjoyable. But a deal is a deal, and if I keep reading 4 or 5 pages a day, I should finish in July or August.

And then there’s another book I’m re-reading. I assigned Helen Dewitt’s The Last Samurai for my classes this semester, so I’m reading it along with them. It is genius, I think. (My students really, really disagree with me.) But the story of a young prodigy (speaks / reads several languages [such as Greek and Japanese] by the age of 4). So it’s the story of him growing up with a single mom who refuses to tell him who his father is. It is genius and enjoyable to read. Unless you’re a student who is forced to read it by a professor who gives quizzes the day spring break begins.

And seems like there was something else.

The LA Times usually has something interesting to say. I just read the Wednesday edition and thought the following three articles were interesting.

For fans of The Wire or Fringe or Lost, there is a brief interview with / article about Lance Reddick. I wish it were longer. He’s a very talented actor, and he seems intelligent and someone you’d like to know more about. Although, why do actors feel the need to become musicians?

Everyone always thinks they are taxed more than everyone else. Californians are no different. And when we finally got a budget last week (over halfway through the fiscal year), they announced a tax hike. And people started screaming about how we were already taxed more than anyone else. Turns out they were wrong. We’re only the 19th on the list of most-taxed states.

And finally. Tap water. Somewhere in New York City, some genius decided to bottle actual tap water and sell it for $1.50. And he’s making a killing. Why didn’t I think of that?

Happy Spring Break, everyone.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Currently Reading”

  1. urbino Says:

    Speaking of O’Connor here’s a review of a new biography of her.

    For fans of The Wire or Fringe or Lost . . . or Cadillac commercials.

    Although, why do actors feel the need to become musicians?

    I thought Reddick was a musician first (jazz pianist, right?), then tried acting. Not so?

  2. michaellasley Says:

    Well….it says he wants to “revive” his music career, but it doesn’t really say what he did before. Other than he’s been classically trained. And that he’s developing a jazz album. He studied acting in college.

    I can’t get enough Cadillac commercials.

    I had no idea about the O’Connor bio. She may well be the love of my life, though.

  3. urbino Says:

    It’s a shame she’s dead. Just your luck.

  4. alsturgeon Says:

    Unfortunately, my reading list has returned exclusively to casebooks and rulebooks.

    But “What is the What” on loan from Prof Lasley is still on my nightstand, as is “Summer of ’49” by Halberstam. I haven’t started either, but they are ready for action just in case.

  5. urbino Says:

    “Summer of ‘49″ by Halberstam

    I thought Bryan Adams wrote that.

  6. alsturgeon Says:

    You may be wrong, but you may be right. Or maybe it was Billy Joel.

  7. urbino Says:

    I just started Niall Ferguson’s The Ascent of Money.

Leave a Reply

