Christmas Playlist

by

In the spirit of the season, I’ve made a quick playlist of some tunes that always get me in the holiday mood. Some are classics, some are newbies, and some are classics with a twist. Happy listening!

1. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (Cindy Lauper & Frank Sinatra) – Leave it to Lauper to capture the fun swinginess (did I make up that word?) of this song. It always makes me smile.

2. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Judy Garland or Ella Fitzgerald) – Judy’s got the sadness of the melody, but Ella picks up the cheeriness of the lyrics.

3. Christmas Time Again (Extreme) – Yes, a Christmas song from the 90’s band Extreme. And it’s fabulous. Play it, Nuno!

4. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (Leon Redbone and Zooey Deschanel) – This is the version from Elf and includes 1/2 of She & Him.

5. On Santa’s Way Home (Marc Broussard) – Marc Broussard could sing anything and I would stop to listen. This is classic Broussard New Orleans goodness.

6. Little Drummer Boy (Bing Crosby & David Bowie) – I don’t know who thought to put these two guys together, but brilliant!

7. Must Have Been Ol’ Santa Claus (Harry Connick, Jr.) – “Happy ho ho ho to you.”

8. Christmas, Don’t Be Late (The Chipmunks) – Admit it. You sing along to “huuulahooop” every time it comes on the radio. I actually had the entire Chipmunks Christmas album as a child. My parents are amazing people.

9. Santa, Baby (Eartha Kitt) – Eartha’s got the perfect amount of sass to pull this one off without being sleazy.

10. Last Christmas (Jimmy Eat World) – I actually like this version better than the Wham original.

And then there’s the worst Christmas song ever. Apart from the general horridness of the song itself, it’s the weird delayed synthesizer delay that puts it over the top.

Tags:

16 Responses to “Christmas Playlist”

  1. dejon05 Says:

    What a great list! And its funny how I never noticed before now how much that Paul McCartney sucks. It is really bad.

    Here are my additions.

    My favorite bad Christmas song: Nat King Cole’s
    “The Happiest Christmas Tree”

    Best new Christmas Song: Stephen Colbert’s “Another Christmas Song” (The whole album is really quite good… and even more importantly New!)

    Another fave: Buster Poindexter’s “Zat You Santa Clause?”

    Another fave: Louis Armstrong’s “Christmas Time In New Orleans”

    And my absolute favorite Christmas song: Charles Brown’s “Please Come Home For Christmas”

  2. urbino Says:

    Excellent links!

    I find pretty much all Xmas music too nostalgic to bear. The most unbearably nostalgi-cholic has got to be “Toyland,” which I’ve never heard any recording of but we used to sing back in Chorus. A vein-opener, that one. Beautiful, but absolutely defenestrating.

    That said, my favorite is probably “The Christmas Song,” and probably Torme’s own version.

    I’m inclined to agree with you about the worst song.

  3. mrspeacock Says:

    Wow, I hadn’t heard The Happiest Christmas Tree or Another Christmas Song. Hilarious! New classics, I say. And I LOVE Please Come Home for Christmas. Gorgeous gorgeous song.

    Toyland? I have no memory of a song called Toyland.

  4. alsturgeon Says:

    Toyland, Toyland – something ’bout little girl & boy-land…

    Great post, Mrs. P! I’ve invited everyone I know to come check it out – maybe we’ll get a few extra comments – everyone has to have an opinion on this topic!

    (BTW, I ‘specially like “Christmas Time in New Orleans” this year, Deej. One of my immediate family’s traditions had been to go to New Orleans every Christmas – City Park, French Quarter, etc. The song will have to do this time around.)

  5. Jamie D Says:

    Relient K has a hilarious version of 12 Days of Christmas, that is one of mine & my boys new favorites. You’ve got to love them just for the title of their latest Christmas offering, “Let it Snow Baby, Let it Reindeer.”

  6. alsturgeon Says:

    So who’s this Relient K group? Jody ended up w/that Xmas CD just the other day, and we LOVE that 12 days version, too. And “Let it Reindeer” is a classic title w/o a doubt.

  7. urbino Says:

    Toyland? I have no memory of a song called Toyland.

    Sorry. Not “Toyland.” There was such a song, but it wasn’t depressing; it just sucked. The song I was thinking of was “Simple Holiday Joys.”

  8. Al Sturgeon Says:

    Yeah, “Simple Holiday Joys” always made me cry. Sorta like “Don’t Hit Your Grandma With a Great Big Stick.”

    BTW, for those scoring at home, I AM DONE WITH MY 1ST SEMESTER OF LAW SCHOOL!!! YIPPEEEEE!!!

    I will now officially be happy until grades come out sometime in January.

  9. urbino Says:

    January? Wow. Things have improved. We didn’t our grades until March.

  10. Terry A. Says:

    Can’t believe you people forgot this…

    http://tinyurl.com/3fmqk9

  11. Terry A. Says:

    Well, that didn’t work, apparently.

    So here are the lyrics:

    I’m here with my dad.
    And we never met.
    And he wants me to sing him a song.
    And, um, I was adopted.
    But you didn’t know I was born.
    So I’m here now.
    I found you, daddy.
    And guess what?
    I love you. I love you. I love you!

  12. Jamie D Says:

    mrspeacock, I had forgotten how bad the synthesizers are on wonderful Christmas time, I heard it today and had a good laugh. Do you remeber when he was with the Beatles. That was awesome.

  13. urbino Says:

    Mikey’s preferred Xmas musician, IIRC, is Dean Martin.

  14. mrspeacock Says:

    Jamie: It’s hard to believe the same man who wrote Yesterday also wrote Wonderful Christmastime. It just goes to show that we all have the potential for greatness or evil.

    Dean Martin’s classic. I used to have a poster of him hanging in my living room, actually. He looked a little wasted.

  15. dejon05 Says:

    Ironically (and FWIW), Deano died on Christmas day.

Leave a Reply

