And now for something completely different…

by

Anybody out there own one of those Amazon Kindle thingamabobs, or know somebody that owns one?  Anybody intrigued by it?

I’m thinking about getting one.  I had no interest in them for a long time.  I like books.  Not just the contents, but as physical obects.  I like the way they smell.  I like cradling their spines.  I like their massiness.  But I’m just flat running out of room for books.  Books, my friends, take up a lot of space.  And they’re kind of expensive.

Supposedly, Kindle 2.0 is going to drop any day now — better product, lower price, etc.  But the googles tell me people have been saying that since May, and Amazon has been denying it for about as long.  Obviously, they have large incentives to deny it, even if it’s true.  OTOH, who wants to be the last person to pay full price for yesterday’s biscuit, right?

I think it was around this time last year that I blogged about my tv buying woes.  What is it with me and electronics?

8 Responses to “And now for something completely different…”

  1. terryaustin Says:

    Fun With Editing:

    “I like the women of The View. Not just the contents, but as physical obects. I like the way they smell. I like cradling their spines. I like their massiness. But I’m just flat running out of room for all four of ’em. These women, my friends, take up a lot of space. And they’re kind of expensive.”

  2. Jeff Says:

    There is a five part series here:
    http://speakquietly.blogspot.com/search/label/kindle

  3. Michael Lasley Says:

    well….you got a fine tv….so that one worked out for you.

    for all the talk about kindles, i’ve only ever seen two in person. i’d think for space reasons, they’d be the way to go…although i’m like you and love to have the actual books. is there an advantage to the kindle over a library? i can’t imagine a public library not being able to access whatever books you mght need. just curious. that’d solve the space problem and you’d also get to love on some actual books. and you wouldn’t be out the first penny.

  4. mrspeacock Says:

    I second the library motion. I’m a tactile person, so I just couldn’t give up the feeling of the physical book. But I really like the word “kindle.”

  5. urbino Says:

    I can’t write in library books. Or, at least, it wouldn’t do me much good if I did.

  6. Michael Lasley Says:

    i completely understand that, ju. and i HATE it when other people write in library books. and plus there’s always the not-knowing-where-people-were-when-they-were-reading-that-book aspect of it. like, was it their bathroom read?

    i don’t even know how the kindle operates, to be honest. i don’t know how/if it allows you to take notes. i should probably look into it more.

  7. urbino Says:

    i don’t know how/if it allows you to take notes.

    It do, but I don’t remember how permanent they are. That is, if you take a book off the Kindle and put it back in your digital library, do the notes go with it? I’m assuming they do, cuz if they didn’t, that’d be kinda freakatarded.

    When I have more time, I’m gonna go through Jeff’s posts (thanks, Jeff!) and see what he has to say. He may cover some of this.

  8. urbino Says:

    Just to put this one to bed, I’m gonna wait and see what happens when the new one comes out. The current one still just seems substantially overpriced.

Leave a Reply

