Proud to be an Americaaaan…

by

Amanda Jones just cast a write-in ballot in Texas for Barack Obama.  She’s 108 years old.  Her father was a slave.

h/t EotAW

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Proud to be an Americaaaan…”

  1. Michael Lasley Says:

    get it right, ju….she’s 109.

  2. Whitney Says:

    I’m sorry, I fail to see why this is news or surprising or anything. It even merited DeJon’s post to facebook. I read the story, she has had an interesting life, sure, but why all the fanfare? I mean, it certainly is no surprise that a lifelong Democrat voted for Obama. I’m not trying to be cynical, but someone tell my why my reaction is, “So?” It certainly is not surprising that a 109 year old black lady from Texas sees the great privilege she has in voting (seeing both suffrage and blacks being granted the right to vote in her lifetime). If anything, the only news to be had is that she could teach others about the importance of voting, but then lots of people should make that headline, right?

    It’s wonderful that she voted! I wish everyone would take advantage of the amazing privilege we have to vote. (I’ve already voted! I voted “Yes” on Rail Transit in Hawaii…I’m such a rebel.)

  3. urbino Says:

    The remarkable thing about it, I think, is that there’s somebody who had immediate family members who were slaves in this country, and is now able to cast a [meaningful] vote for a black man for president.

    I find that rather moving. YMMV.

  4. Sandi Says:

    Well, very few people make it to 109. Even fewer of those are African American. Her father was a slave, and she was able to vote for an African American candidate for president. That’s pretty amazing. It shows how much change is possible in that span of time, which is inspiring. I don’t think anyone is surprised that she didn’t vote for McCain, just that she’s alive at all to be a part of this moment in American history. So, that’s why my reaction is more than “so?”.

  5. Terry A. Says:

    Monorail…. Monorail… Monora-a-a-a-a-a-ail!!!!

    Also, YMMV either means Your Mileage May Vary or Your Moose-Murdering Vice president(ial hopeful).

    Not so catchy, I know. I’m workin’ without a net here.

Leave a Reply

