Pop Culture Review

by

Best movie I saw: Iron Man! I know, I know, I have a thing for robotic super heroes, but really, it’s fantastic. Robert Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark, and he’s just so darn funny.  I always force my friends to sit through the end credits, and they thanked me on this one.

Looking forward to: I’ve had Into The Wild sitting on my coffee table for weeks now, but I promise I want to see it.

Best TV I watched: The Office was even funnier than usual this week. “If you propose to me during a Michael meeting, I will say no.” And though I’m not a regular viewer, I laughed myself silly during How I Met Your Mother.

Best Book I Read: Persepolis by Marjane Sartrapi. I mentioned it in an earlier post while I was still in the middle of the book. It’s an autobiographical graphic novel that tells the story of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. Marjane grapples with wanting to protest alongside her parents, losing friends who flee the country, and learning of relatives imprisoned and tortured. All the while, she’s still a little girl “coming of age” and acting out in whatever way she can (listening to Billy Idol!). There’s a second book, and I can’t wait to read it.

Best Thing I Heard: The Young Guns medley of sorts at the Bon Jovi concert. Mmmhmmm. I am not ashamed. I’ve also been listening to Tristan Prettyman. She’s a cross between Regina Spektor, KT Tunstall, and just about every other female artist out there right now.

22 Responses to “Pop Culture Review”

  1. Michael Lasley Says:

    And you almost, almost, almost, almost got to see the Ironman premiere. Kind of. No? Pretty sure you did almost get to see that.

  2. mrspeacock Says:

    Oh, so close. I’m silently cursing Santa Monica for stealing my time away from Robert Downey.

  3. alsturgeon Says:

    Okay, I need a little help from the musical experts (which, compared to me, is everyone – but especially Mrs. Peacock).

    I’m making a Windows Movie Maker video with digital pics from our years here in Ocean Springs. I’ve found a few appropriate songs, but I need several suggestions of songs with touching lyrics about relationships – you know, for friends and family sort of pictures.

    Any contributions from Hippo World would be greatly appreciated.

  4. Michael Lasley Says:

    I ran into this li’l link today and thought of C-Love’s mention of Bon Jovi.

    I chuckled.

    http://www.mcsweeneys.net/2006/4/6moe.html

  5. Terry A. Says:

    “Rappin’ With the Duke” has always brought a tear to my eye.

  6. alsturgeon Says:

    “Every time I put on pants, I tell ya pilgrim, I wanna dance.”

    Those lyrics make me cry every time.

  7. michaellasley Says:

    Eye of the Tiger?

    The Final Countdown?

    Jump?

    Sorry I’m no help to you. No one’d ever ask me for help on such a project.

  8. alsturgeon Says:

    Maybe the theme song to the Beverly Hillbillies?

  9. Michael Lasley Says:

    I think that one’d be a must for any compilation you put together right now. Maybe “All the Gold in California.”

    Seriously. No help is what I am. I still think The Final Countdown, just because, I mean, that song is the cat’s meow.

  10. mrspeacock Says:

    Thanks for the Bon Jovi link…hilarious! I can bear witness that he does, in fact, rock your face off.

    Most of the friendship songs I can think of are the obvious choices: You’ve Got a Friend in Me (Randy Newman), You’ve Got a Friend (James Taylor), Shower the People (James Taylor)

    But there are a few that might work even though they’re not strictly about friendship: Silver Lining (Bonnie Raitt), God’s Been Good to Me (Keith Urban), The Wood Song (Indigo Girls).

    My favorite song about friendship is “For Good” from the musical Wicked, but I can’t imagine you’d want to use that. So long as you steer clear of “Friends are Friends Forever,” you should be good.

  11. Whitney Says:

    I seriously (well, maybe not) think you should start it off with “Oh I wish I was in the Land of Cotton….” And you have to include Mississippi Squirrel Revival (Ray Stevens)–I mean…the First Self-Righteous Church cracks me up every time.

    For some awful reason I just thought of one that just made me laugh—out loud:
    I’m Gonna Miss You (Milli Vinilli)

    Still laughing…But the durn song is now stuck in my head.

    More appropriate: Breakaway (Kelli Clarkson), Never Say Goodbye (Bon Jovi, yeah baby!!–oh, wait, maybe just the chorus), Here I Go Again (Whitesnake), My Wish (Rascall Flatts), I Hope You Dance, I Will Remember You (Sarah McLachlan), and you absolutely have to include Time of Your Life (Greenday)

  12. Whitney Says:

    OK, so I know I’m a sappy dork, but Al, Breakaway totally fits you guys right now. So much so, I’m posting them on here. If only Bon Jovi-my-favorite-band-ever had sung it.

    Grew up in a small town
    And when the rain would fall down
    I’d just stare out my window
    Dreaming of what could be
    And if I’d end up happy
    I would pray (I would pray)

    Trying hard to reach out
    But when I tried to speak out
    Felt like no one could hear me
    Wanted to belong here
    But something felt so wrong here
    So I prayed I could break away

    [Chorus:]
    I’ll spread my wings and I’ll learn how to fly
    I’ll do what it takes til’ I touch the sky
    And I’ll make a wish
    Take a chance
    Make a change
    And breakaway
    Out of the darkness and into the sun
    But I won’t forget all the ones that I love
    I’ll take a risk
    Take a chance
    Make a change
    And breakaway

    Wanna feel the warm breeze
    Sleep under a palm tree
    Feel the rush of the ocean
    Get onboard a fast train
    Travel on a jet plane, far away (I will)
    And breakaway

    [Chorus]

    Buildings with a hundred floors
    Swinging around revolving doors
    Maybe I don’t know where they’ll take me but
    Gotta keep moving on, moving on
    Fly away, breakaway

    I’ll spread my wings
    And I’ll learn how to fly
    Though it’s not easy to tell you goodbye
    I gotta take a risk
    Take a chance
    Make a change
    And breakaway
    Out of the darkness and into the sun
    But I won’t forget the place I come from
    I gotta take a risk
    Take a chance
    Make a change
    And breakaway, breakaway, breakaway

    For the sake of levity, you could follow it with something ridiculous. “Pour Some Sugar on Me” springs to mind.

  13. Whitney Says:

    Oh—Joe says Breakaway would not be a good song if you’re giving it to friends & family. Probably true. You dont’ want to leave them screaming, “You never understood me!!!!!!!!!!!”

  14. Joe Says:

    Nah. No Kelly Clarkson.
    “Wanted to belong here, But something felt so wrong here” doesn’t really fit Al and Ocean Springs. At least I don’t think it does.

    I’m always partial to Boyz 2 Men “It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday” for a good farewell song:

    How do I say goodbye to what we had?
    The good times that made us laugh
    Outweigh the bad
    I thought we’d get to see forever
    But forever’s gone away
    It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.
    I don’t know where this road
    Is going to lead
    All I know is where we’ve been
    And what we’ve been through
    If we get to see tomorrow
    I hope it’s worth all the wait
    It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.
    And I’ll take with me the memories
    To be my sunshine after the rain
    It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.
    And I’ll take with me the memories
    To be my sunshine after the rain
    It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.

    But, you can never go wrong with “The Sound of Music” either:

    So long! Farewell! auf Wiedersehen! Goodbye!

  15. Joe Says:

    How come Whitney gets a cool red pattern and I get pink? No fair.

  16. Whitney Says:

    Even the random pattern generator knows I’m cooler.

  17. DeJon05 Says:

    Am I the only one who found this online domestic discussion to be knee-slappingly funny?

    Gosh I miss you guys.

  18. urbino Says:

    All I can think of is “The Places You Find Love,” which is on Quincy Jones’s Back on the Block album. Might be a particularly good choice for the Katrina pix section, as it opens with, “It was raining when I met you…”

  19. alsturgeon Says:

    Man, you guys are suddenly very helpful. Thanks for that. Now I’ve got a lot of listening and/or work to do.

    When I’m done, we can do the Inappropriate Songs contest. Mikey has a head start – I’ve been singing “All the Gold in California” all day long now. And I’m thinking “I Fought the Law and the Law Won” is just almost clever.

  20. Jamie D Says:

    Pictures of You by The Last Goodnight is my recommendation, if it doesn’t make it in the slide show at least add it to your crank it up list. Let me know if you come through the gould, lunch is on Terry A.

  21. alsturgeon Says:

    Hey, I’m coming mid-July. Dog ‘n Suds?

  22. alsturgeon Says:

    Oh, and I forgot to mention that the random pattern generator irks me, too, Joe. For some reason it gives me an ugly bald man every single time.

Leave a Reply

