I Hate Politics, Part 753

by

Sorry about the doldrums, Al.  It’s just that reading stuff like this and this makes me ever so tired and inspires the kind of silence that can only be a product of living in a place and time where everything is turned upside down, the things that are truly important hardly mentioned and the trivial and shallow inundating us 24/7.  I just don’t have the energy for this.  But politics is the only thing that we all have in common (religion as a topic works for everyone but me, sorry), so … where does that leave us?

3 Responses to “I Hate Politics, Part 753”

  1. DeJon05 Says:

    Sandi I read your links. And of course my reaction was the type of apathy that results from the millionth time I hear about one person trying to tear down another. I mean I’m not trying to cast more blame on Peggy Noonan or even decry the current state of politics. I long ago reconciled that things are just the way they are… I don’t even limit it to the arena of politics. Some time ago I just finally decided that this is how people are.

    But then I read this to be displayed story. I warn you its from ESPN.com and its about sports.

    But it could be about politics. It could be about anything. The fact that the story is set on a softball field has nothing to do with the point. And really the story isn’t all that big a deal. Two mediocre Division II girls softball teams were playing a regular season game. The story even hinges on an obscure real about how to score a home run.

    A 5’2″ senior hit a 3-run home run late in the game. Big deal.

    But what was a big deal is that trotting past first base she blew out her knee. An injury so severe that the diminutive home run hitter was left to writhe in pain on the dirt of the infield. If her team touched her to help in any way she would be called out. If she could muster the strength to crawl back to first base, the team could replace her with a pinch runner, but her hit would be ruled a single wiping away her first ever collegiate home run.

    But here’s where the story gets crazy. To fix the solution two players from the other team offered to pick her up and carry her around the bases. And they did.

    Even more, the home run proved to be the game winner.

    As an addendum, I must say that I can’t remember the last time I met a more cynical person than myself. As a matter of fact, it was this very story that made me realize how much I have lost faith in people. I trust almost no one, and expect the worst from everyone.

    But here’s the quote from the player who had the idea to pick up her opponent and help that opponent beat her team…

    “Honestly, it’s one of those things that I hope anyone would do it for me”

    And my cynicism kicks in, and I just shake my head because I know in my heart of hearts that this player, who demonstrated a trait I lost some time ago, is wrong. No one would ever do that for her. I’m convicted that’s true.

    But it is the deeply buried waning ember of hope that allows me only to wish that what she said were true.

    But God bless her for her blind innocence.

  2. Whitney Says:

    That’s a very good story Dej. It’s funny, though, because it has the exact opposite effect on me. Actually, I guess it isn’t funny, it is expected.

    You know that I’m not a cynic about all things. Some things, yes. But I try to be hopeful about humanity. I realize I’m probably being naive. Maybe, just maybe, I am even subconsciously keeping myself naive (hence, blind). I don’t know. But I try to believe in people, and I try to see the best in people (except for when they piss me off, then that whole fundamental attribution error kicks in, and that person is nothing but a jerk, but I’m working on it–being nicer when people irritate me.) I guess it is because I want people to also see the good in me and to give me the benefit of the doubt.

    So, see, my reaction to that story, even before I saw the opposing teammate’s quote, was, “Of course, that’s just what you would do!” I’m not in any way trying to bolster myself here, that’s honestly what I thought. But your cynicism, I feel, is pretty well earned. I wish it weren’t so, and you know that we here love you in spite of it, and maybe partly because of it. But maybe you can let people like me have enough hope for all of those folks who are feeling like you.

    And I also hope you are turning a corner in life and that the next chapter reads of many encounters where your expectations for others are far exceeded. Stranger things have happened.

    Sandi–I read a little of the Noonan piece, but I just was like, “Boring. Drivel.” Did I read enough for the conservative in me to agree or disagree? No. Because I right away didn’t see any indication of substance. It just immediately hit me and I was bored. Seems, unfortunately, to be my reaction to all of this stuff recently. (The Obama/Wright thing yesterday actually piqued my interested a bit. I think I even had a 3-4 sentence conversation about it with Joe.)

    I used to get very into political discussion, but it just seems to be so much meaningless rhetoric in the last few years, filled with so much hate and no real messages, especially from the media and persons not the candidates in question, that I tune out. I’d rather watch Sex and the City or Ghost Hunters. Head in the sand? Probably. Intentional disassociation? Definitely. I know you will all probably say that an educated person like me is doing no one any good by ignoring all this stuff, but I saves me high blood pressure and unnecessary stress. So…anyone want to go to the beach?

  3. alsturgeon Says:

    I’ll come to the beach, Whitney. But if I blow out my knee, you’re carrying me back to the car.

    I read the Noonan rebuttal, and I thought the author was pretty darn good at rebutting.

    And I enjoyed DeJon’s article quite a bit. I think I’m somewhere between DeJon and Whitney – cuz when I’m a mediator someday, I’ll need to be good at such things. I agree that a majority of folks wouldn’t go one step out of their way to lift the fallen, but I plan to lift some fallen folks anyway, and it’s cool when I see some folks at it who say out loud its just the right thing to do.

    Even cooler to think that both Whitney and DeJon have carried me when a storm metaphorically blew out the knees of everyone on my whole team.

Leave a Reply

