Daddy, where does carbon come from?

by

Some nifty maps of the US, showing where the most CO2 is being emitted.

5 Responses to “Daddy, where does carbon come from?”

  1. Michael Lasley Says:

    Why does Texas suck so much? That’s what I wanna know.

    And waddup with Maine?

  2. captmidknight Says:

    Maybe lots of cows – which equals a lot of CO2 as well as CH4 – but few people which raises the ratio of carbon per person.

  3. urbino Says:

    I’m guessing it’s 2 things: large distances, and extremely high proportion of trucks/SUVs. Both are especially true in west TX, where most of the red dots are.

    What’s up with Cali? I thought you guys were the leading edge of the green revolution?

  4. ari Says:

    Massive feed lots, giant cities, lots of cars (ever heard of LA, friend?), several of the nation’s biggest airports, many military bases, etc. Also, we’re sorry. If it makes you feel any better, we have only one car and drive fewer than 3,000 miles/year. Plus, I’ve begun to skip conferences except when I have to be there, which means less flying. Um, and we plant at least one tree every spring. And I like puppies (we just got one) and kittens. So there.

  5. alsturgeon Says:

    Okay, okay, okay. And Earth Day yesterday, too.

    I’m ready to do my part. I will no longer carbon copy people on emails. It scares me to think how much carbon I’ve emitted over the years in this manner.

    But no more.

Leave a Reply

