Who else is gonna bring you a Broken Arrow?

by

Once upon a time, I wrote a piece of software for a phone company that one could enter a customer’s phone number in and get a response telling you whether that customer could get DSL service. The phone company used this software in their call center. The phone company also had retail stores in various places, and wanted those stores to use the software, as well. So I worked with a very nice woman at the company’s HQ to set up user accounts for the stores.

She decided that the passwords for these accounts would all take the form of an abbreviation of the store’s city, followed by the word “retail” — all lowercase. She sent me a spreadsheet of the passwords. She was considerably embarrassed when I suggested in response that it might not be in her best interest for the employees in Broken Arrow, OK, to be walking around with “baretail” on their minds all day. She just hadn’t thought that one through.

Companies often don’t think through their choices of website URLs, either. One that I visit occasionally is a knowledge-sharing site for programmers: Experts Exchange. Their URL is “www.expertsexchange.com”.

Here are some more.

(h/t Yglesias)

6 Responses to “Who else is gonna bring you a Broken Arrow?”

  1. DeJon05 Says:

    Dear gracious… I took the first of my three-day comprehensive exams today, and I can think of no better form of decompression than this gloriously juvenile exercise that left me in tears.

    My greatest thanks for your timely contribution.

  2. Whitney Says:

    For some reason Pen Island just cracked me up completely…especially after a recent episode of South Park I saw…

    Thanks!

  3. Whitney Says:

    Dej, Best to you right now, friend. Wish I was there to toast you when you’re done w/ generals.

  4. mystiquefree Says:

    hey, broken arrow is 40 miles from my home town!

  5. mrspeacock Says:

    powergenitalia? Are you kidding me? Hilaaarious.

  6. urbino Says:

    Hope it’s going well, DeJon. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

