It’s Always Friday in Malibu

by

Random notes.

1. I’ve got a killer tan going on these days. People comment on it. Those comments make me happy because I have low self-esteem and need to be noticed.

2. Little kids singing The Beatles make me happy. Here’s hoping it makes you happy, too.

3. In Las Vegas, it is now legal for brothels to advertise. But noone will buy their ads, apparently. People’ll buy ads for thinly disguised illegal prostitution-type things but not for legal prostitution. Β 

4. I’m still half-heartedly reading Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, and it’s more painful than I ever thought possible. I have to make myself read a page every now and then. I’m a trooper. I’ll finish it. But I’ll try never to speak of it again. In my life.

5. Counting Crows have a new album out. I’m a big fan. The album, Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings, is worth checking out. I know a lot of people don’t like Durtiz’s voice, but he’s a very good songwriter.

6. I just linked to Amazon for music. Does anyone still buy music from Amazon? Just curious. I can’t remember the last actual cd I bought. I either go the iTunes route or order from Amazon’s Mp3 store.

An Additional Note:

One of my favorite reads everyday is Mark Elrod’s Lame-O Weblog. He has a post on a Wal-Mart situation that I hadn’t heard about. It doesn’t make me like Wal-Mart any more or less than I already did or didn’t. But it’s a tad disturbing.

19 Responses to “It’s Always Friday in Malibu”

  1. DeJon Says:

    Good thoughts Prof Lasley… Ironically I left my “study break” of perusing iTunes to continue said break here. I sampled the new C.Crows album about a minute before reading your mention.

    My thoughts after sampling… I didn’t buy it because it just doesn’t sound very diverse. August and Everything After epitomizes high school for me. But at first glance, this new album sounds like the same sound from ’93/’94. I hope I’m wrong. I’m a big Duritz fan.

    Along the same lines I’ve been buying my music from iTunes for a few years now. But lately I’ve found out that I’m apparently one of the few. Most of the people I’ve chatted with still download illegally. Issues of ethics aside, I didn’t know I could still do that. I mean Napster and I had a close relationship back in the day. That is until it gave me a virus and the feds (sorta) threatened to send me to jail for my few downloads. So I broke it off.

    Now I find out that LimeWire is the way to go. And I’ll be honest, I’m considering going back to the dark side. There’s a lot of new albums I’d like to buy (Black Crowes, Gnarles Barkley, Tift Merrit, The Raconteurs, Kathleen Edwards, Across the Universe Soundtrack, OneRepublic…maybe, Once Soundtrack, Death Cab (in May), Jack Johnson, Zepellin (Remastered), etc… etc.)

    And if you like that little kid singing the Beatles, you may fall in love with
    this 3-year-old reviewing Star Wars. I know she stole my heart.

  2. michaellasley Says:

    Hmmm….they haven’t changed a ton since that first album. They had their electric ablum — Recovering the Sattelites — but their last three albums haven’t broken any new ground, sonically. But I still like the lyrics.

    OneRepublic is worth buying. So is the Once soundtrack. So is The Raconteurs. So is the Jack Johnson — it’s my favorite album of the spring so far.

    For some reason, I still like the idea of listening to music in the album format. So I rarely download a single song — I get the whole album. I’m weird.

  3. michaellasley Says:

    That’s a great link, by the way.

  4. Favela Cranshaw Says:

    Just curious. What makes you want to browse “Atlas Shrugged” to the finish? Is it some kind of punishment for a transgression? Why do it?

  5. Michael Lasley Says:

    hmm…not sure i have a good answer. i know a lot of people LOVE that book. i want to know why. or i want to be able to tell people i’ve read it.

    there’s not a good reason.

    i’ve never transgressed enough to deserve to read it, though.

  6. Favela Cranshaw Says:

    You can tell people you’ve read it and don’t like the atheism and skipped Galt’s speech because it was not worth it. No one can argue with that (unless you are an atheist, of course) and usually no more questions will be asked. Better yet, read the speech only and skip the rest of the book. That way you’ll have a better idea why AS is so popular.

  7. mrspeacock Says:

    Vegas:
    I just got back from seeing the movie 21, so I’ve got Vegas on the brain. I really dislike it there. As I said to my friend afterwards, it’s the only place where you have to work at not seeing somebody naked. Well, except for Amsterdam, but Europe doesn’t count. So I’m actually a little surprised about that brothels can’t find advertising.

    Music:
    I have never bought music from Amazon, but I buy practically everything from iTunes. I’m a whole album person, too. No singles for me unless I know everything else is really terrible.

    I haven’t listened to Counting Crows in a while, but I’ve always liked them. I agree with DeJon that they haven’t really done anything new, but there’s a familiarity there that I like. You’re pretty sure what you’re gonna get, but you want it anyway. Sister Hazel is very much that way for me.

  8. michaellasley Says:

    thanks, favela. i’ll stick it out. it’s not the atheism i mind so much…i’m just not into the story or the characters or her writing style. it just isn’t that interesting to me.

    thanks for the comments.

  9. Favela Cranshaw Says:

    Sure. But don’t skip “The Speech.”

  10. alsturgeon Says:

    It may be Friday in Malibu, but it is Monday in Mississippi.
    πŸ™‚

  11. alsturgeon Says:

    Hey Mikey, found out today that we’re getting a 3rd floor apartment with an ocean view. Woo hoo!

  12. Michael Lasley Says:

    nice work!

  13. DeJon Says:

    Congrats, Al!

    Confession: I’m quite jealous.

  14. alsturgeon Says:

    We had a choice between that one and a first floor apartment next to the laundry room. Going down two flights of stairs for three years to do laundry doesn’t sound fun, but…

    How can you turn down an ocean view? For laundry convenience?

    And DeJon, I’m expecting you’ll end up in Miami hanging out with the CSI dudes and dudettes – or wearing a cool Rutgers Law sweatshirt… either way, you look at the other ocean as the sun rises each morning, and I’ll check it out on the other ocean each night. We’ll have it covered from coast to coast!

    Or, we’ll both be in libraries and never notice an ocean.

    Oh well. Mikey will look at the ocean for us. With his killer tan.

  15. urbino Says:

    And I’ll be here by Old Man Kelsey’s Ocean.

  16. Jamie D Says:

    Al, we’re all jealous. Michael, I’ve downloaded a few Jack Johnson songs but I figure the album is probably worth the money.

  17. alsturgeon Says:

    I’m so used to being jealous that I don’t know how to act on the other side of things! πŸ™‚

  18. Chris Geyer Says:

    I’ve read Atlas Shrugged at least 20 times, but I’ve never read all of Galt’s speech. I keep promising myself I will, someday, get through it, but I lose interest. Maybe now that I’ve had six years of graduate school and understand Aristotle a bit better, maybe now I can do it.

    The book gets better the further into it you get. Keep plugging, and then let me know what you think. Or, if you want to discuss it more as you go, you know where to find me. I’ll be glad to help you get through it. πŸ™‚

  19. Michael Lasley Says:

    thanks, chris. i’ll keep at it. i’ll probably email you about it at some point. hope things are a-ok for you back east!

Leave a Reply

