Bunnies For Jesus!

by

It was one year ago this weekend that will surely go down as the most bizarre Easter of my life. My bluegrass band had been hired to play at an Episcopalean church in Memphis. We thought this was some kind of community picnic, and we were there to provide entertainment.

After setting up, the priest asked what church songs we were going to play. Eh? It seems we were supposed to lead the congregation in singing. Oh, right. So nothing about moonshine, adultery, or coal mining, then. This could be tough. But we worked up a few verses of I’ll Fly Away and Will the Circle Be Unbroken. Crisis averted.

The afternoon played like this: Everyone would gather around the approximately 2 ft. square communion table for a short Bible lesson led by the priest speaking through an entirely unnecessary megaphone, after which the kids were let loose to search for Easter Eggs, then everyone would wander back around for a bluegrass song, and the process would repeat itself again. A little disjointed, yes, but nothing to write home about. Until this.

I was standing with my back to the priest when our mandolin player began whispering “Turn around, Turn around, Turn around!” And this is what I saw…

Yes, communion was served by a priest and the Easter Bunny. Best. Easter. Ever.

7 Responses to “Bunnies For Jesus!”

  1. urbino Says:

    Excellent! You can’t go wrong with the We’re-Not-Anglicans.

    Sounds like you could’ve used an assist from the Little Warvy Gals, though. A little “In the Highways” or “Oh, Come, Angel Band.” And Mikey could’ve added genuine Bluegrass harmonies. You know, if you needed a man to lead and all.

  2. alsturgeon Says:

    Don’t be silly. Mikey was too busy serving communion with the priest.

  3. urbino Says:

    I guess Rick Santorum was right about gay marriage leading to bestiality. First the Episcopalians ordained gays, and now they’re ordaining rabbits.

  4. Whitney Says:

    I am rolling on the floor laughing. That’s one of the funniest pictures I have ever, ever seen!! AWESOME! I am just jealous I wasn’t there. šŸ™‚

  5. Whitney Says:

    Oh geesh JU, I just read your comment. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚
    Glad I wasn’t drinking anything. Thanks for a real big honest-to-goodness laugh. I needed it today.

  6. urbino Says:

    Happy to have been of some use. Hope tomorrow’s better for you.

  7. Olivia Says:

    Holy stinkin’ crap! As much time as I’ve spent with you in the past (not recently though), I must admit that I’ve never heard you talk about that story. We need to get together…. Haven’t spent any time with you since you bought my gas! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

