And the Hits Just Keep on Rolling

by

I have had just about enough of the Clintons.  At the end of all this when McCain is elected, I hope they’re happy, because they have (perhaps not only, but at least partly) themselves to blame.  Their egos are completely out of control.  James Carville calling Bill Richardson a traitor for backing Obama?  Give me an f-ing break.  I am sick to death of their sense of entitlement.

You know, I didn’t start off this primary season as a big Obama fan like a lot of people.  I originally supported Edwards, as I’ve mentioned previously.  But I’ve become more and more protective of Obama the more the Clintons (and others) attack him.  He is a politician, not a deity, as Frank Rich pointed out today, but I believe he is sincere in wanting to take a new, more inclusive, more positive direction in politics — something that most Americans profess to want and that I for one believe is high time we at least attempted.  I also believe that he’s smart and has good judgment.  What he lacks in experience can be supplied by well-chosen advisors.  The hatchet job everyone’s trying to do on him right now just goes to show that our political system is irretrievably broken and morally bankrupt.  I can’t believe I even have the energy to care anymore, I’m so sick of people tearing each other apart over trifles, lies, and distortions.

Sorry, Barack, no, we can’t.  It has become abundantly clear that the American people just don’t want to.

2 Responses to “And the Hits Just Keep on Rolling”

  1. captmidknight Says:

    Most political candidates for State or National office – regardless of party – find it useful to have a few attack dogs that can say things in public that the candidate themselves cannot, and Carville has done this for the Clintons fairly often, going back several years. The one I remember best is Carville’s comment on Paula Jones – something to the effect that she was what you might expect to get if you “drug a $100 bill through a trailer park.” He’s a master of the folksy turn of phrase.
    For Richardson, he made use of the timing:

    “Mr. Richardson’s endorsement came right around the anniversary of the day when Judas sold out for 30 pieces of silver, so I think the timing is appropriate, if ironic,” Mr. Carville said, referring to Holy Week.”

    The mystery to me is that he’s married to Mary Matilin, just as partisan on the right as Carville is on the left. Wonder how that works at home?

    On the whole, things don’t look good for Clinton Inc. On the other hand, with Richardson’s endorsement, could we be looking at the Dem ticket for the Fall?

  2. urbino Says:

    I haven’t made up my mind what Bill meant by that remark. Was it an attempt to obliquely re-tar Obama with Wright’s rhetoric, to keep that rhetoric fresh in the minds of voters in a state loaded with military bases, or was it just an ill-constructed attempt to say what he now claims he meant?

    I lean toward the former, given his campaign cunning and his record in this particular campaign, but it’s so oblique, I’m just not quite sure.

Leave a Reply

