The End

by

Hillary Clinton just lost my vote. Even if she wins the nomination, I will not vote for her.

Even with the Supreme Court in the precarious state it’s in, I will not vote for her.

Even with healthcare a major issue that John McCain is completely clueless on and obviously could not be less interested in addressing, I will not vote for her.

Even with the war in Iraq ongoing, I will not vote for her.

Even after 8 years of GOP control of the White House, I will not vote for her.

Even with the rule of law in a state of extreme disrepair, I will not vote for her.

Even with Katrina victims still at loose ends because they are of no value to the GOP, I will not vote for her.

Even with climate change in need of America’s attention, I will not vote for her.

To paraphrase Bill, I will not vote for that woman. Not if she were the last Democrat on Earth.

(Of note: Ms. Ferraro has a history of making, “You wouldn’t be here if you weren’t black,” statements.)

22 Responses to “The End”

  1. ari Says:

    I’m not sure I’m following you: will you or will you not vote for Senator Clinton?

  2. urbino Says:

    I’m torn.

  3. urbino Says:

    How ’bout you? Still hanging in there?

    One wonders what Geraldine will have to say about David Patterson.

  4. Michael Lasley Says:

    this sounds like the beginnings of a good Dr. Seuss book.

  5. ari Says:

    I’m balancing my current feelings of rage against my sense that a McCain presidency might very well destroy what’s left of this nation’s virtue. Honestly, this is a tough choice. If McCain hadn’t made himself Bush’s lapdog, and had he not proved unwilling to denounce Hagee, it would be easier to imagine sitting on my hands in the general. Or even vote for the Maverick — rather than Clinton, of course. But McCain seems like such a fraud to me, and such a threat to so many things that I hold dear, that I can’t imagine not voting Democratic. In the end, though, much will depend on how Clinton handles the Ferraro flap in the coming days.

  6. msmiranda Says:

    The way I look at it is, if we can’t win honestly and with our morals intact, we’re no better than the Karl Rove Republicans and it’s a tainted victory. The ironic thing is, Hillary’s chances of winning the general election dip ever further south with each instance of dirty campaigning, because she’s reinforcing the image (read: truth) that she only cares about winning. The fact that she is persisting the way she is, is ego and hubris run amok. I can’t believe that two individuals who are supposedly as politically savvy as Bill and Hillary cannot see how insane this has gotten and how they are damaging the party.

    I’ve about decided I won’t vote for her either, though I am still hoping that Obama will pull it out.

  7. captmidknight Says:

    “I’ve about decided I won’t vote for her either, though I am still hoping that Obama will pull it out.”
    _________
    I just saw a story on AOL that says that, after all the delegates are counted from the caucus, Obama will actually win Texas 99 to 95. Looks like Hillary’s big Super Duper Tuesday wasn’t quite so big after all.

  8. ari Says:

    Yeah, capt., but she won the news cycle. For a full week. And more than that, she got what she wanted out of Super Deuxsday: sanction to keep fighting through PA. I’m hoping the Ferraro stuff, coupled with two more huge wins (though not in huge states) for Obama will put an end to this thing. But I doubt it. Still and all, I can’t imagine, after a night’s sleep, not voting for the Democratic nominee. McCain, no matter the press’s unholy love for him, is a scary man: wants more wars, anti-choice, deeply corrupt, filled with rage, contemptuous of his enemies, ignorant of domestic policy, wrong about foreign policy. Okay, some of that was redundant. Sorry.

  9. urbino Says:

    McCain, no matter the press’s unholy love for him, is a scary man: wants more wars, anti-choice, deeply corrupt, filled with rage, contemptuous of his enemies, ignorant of domestic policy, wrong about foreign policy.

    Not to put too fine a point on it, but Hillary isn’t exactly his polar opposite. On war and foreign policy, she would take basically a moderate GOP line — partly to avoid appearing weak as the first woman president, partly out of triangulation, and partly because she just agrees. She’s contemptuous of her enemies. She’s run a corrupt campaign, and it remains to be seen how clean her family finances are.

    She’s just not enough better than McCain for me to swallow all the crap. She’s turning the Democratic Party into the GOP, with the way she’s campaigning. She’s pulled the say-something-outrageous-then-accuse-your-opponent-of-doing-it-instead trick a few times too many.

  10. urbino Says:

    Hillary’s chances of winning the general election dip ever further south with each instance of dirty campaigning

    Exactly. Happily, I think she also reduces her chances of making a comeback in the primary, which, double-happily, she still has to do in order to win.

    Obama got more delegates out of TX, and more delegates out of CA, once the final count was in. He increased his lead still more with WY and MS. Hillary’s going to win PA, but, without getting a lot of party insiders to cooperate with her in some very high-smelling chicanery, she’s can’t win. And the nature of the campaign she’s running makes it, I think, less and less likely that she’ll get many party insiders to cooperate with her.

  11. mrspeacock Says:

    McCain, no matter the press’s unholy love for him, is a scary man: wants more wars, anti-choice, deeply corrupt, filled with rage, contemptuous of his enemies, ignorant of domestic policy, wrong about foreign policy.

    Clearly, you’re not a fan. But McCain is filled with rage? Contemptuous of his enemies? Deeply corrupt? ‘Splain.

    And, not to get into an abortion debate, but I wouldn’t label the pro-life position as “scary.” I’m anti-choice (as you call it), and I promise I’ve never frightened anyone.

  12. alsturgeon Says:

    Yes, but you did once kill a man in the conservatory with a candlestick.
    🙂

    Nothing much to add… just that it was fun to vote in a primary yesterday where I actually cared about the outcome. Yea for the Democrats of Mississippi!!!

  13. Whitney Says:

    I’m already so tired. You know I love you guys, and it’s interesting (albeit expectedly polarized–except for JU) to hear what you have to say. But there’s so much EMOTION, y’all! I think I’d like to go into a coma until September. Unfortunately, I work for big braddah (thought I’d throw in some of the Pidgin that is rampant here) and actually need to pay attention. But I won’t be entering into any ideological debates, I’ll leave that in your playground. So, I’m here, but I’m that kid that is sitting on the swing alone just watching everyone else…but glad no one asks me to play.

    That said, Clinton stinks. Why is anyone surprised? She’s a snake. But some people I know have been saying that for many years. Go figure. Obama–where’s any substance? Great rhetoric means didly to me. I know some GREAT speakers who I think are less than spectacular when in comes to implementing all their great ideas because there isn’t a strategic plan. McCain–??? I just don’t know. I’m not bandwagoning. Surprised?

    And last thought–I’m with Mrs. P over there: 1) Please ‘splain. 2) I’m not frightening either. I’m rather mousy.

  14. DeJon Says:

    Hey, Whit! Its been a while, and we should catch up.

    Italic Obama–where’s any substance?

    But for the sake of public discourse, I wanted to wax poetic on the line of thinking you highlight.

    Not long ago, I gave credence to this concern. But after some thought, I just don’t know what people expect for him. Do we really need to hear Hillary and Obama bludgeon each other with the specifics of their respective health care plans?

    The “Obama-is-only-rhetoric” has truly begun to ring hallow to me. The guy has a federal and state voting record, and he has run a campaign that (with one exception) has stayed above the negative fray.

    Doesn’t the way he has run his campaign and his voting record provide a significant amount of substance?

    I can certainly see how a thinking person might decide she doesn’t like what Obama has to offer. But I’m finding it more odd that people are saying he offers nothing.

  15. mrspeacock Says:

    Yes, but you did once kill a man in the conservatory with a candlestick.

    Well played.

  16. DeJon Says:

    Ari, I think your take on McCain is interesting. I can’t take issue with most of your assertions. McCain does have a temper. He does fight political battles like pit bull, and there have been hints of impropriety.

    I wouldn’t use the force you did with your assertions, and that’s probably why I don’t loathe McCain the way you seem to.

    I used to serve in the military in Arizona, and McCain’s name came up… a lot. I love him for exposing the multi-billion dollar Air Force tanker lease as corrupt and the people involved as criminals. I love the story even more given the backdrop of his military service.

    And he does seem to be the quint-essential maverick. He panders to no one, and that leaves him with almost no die-hard fan base.

    I am in no way a die-hard fan myself, but I find it admirable that he is scared to poke his finger in the eye of no one. I guess that’s just the other side of the ” contemptuous-of-his-enemies” coin.

    Lastly, I will disagree completely with your assertion that he is a fraud. If there is one politician whom I suspect is the same in front of the camera as in the back room it is John McCain.

  17. DeJon Says:

    Me right pretty some day

  18. Whitney Says:

    Dej, I just laughed out loud. Good think I’d already swallowed that gulp of coffee. Anyway, very interesting take on McCain from a perspective I doubt many have…military AND Arizona.

    Come visit us, my friend! You could have a whole week of nothing but sun and mindless beach-going. I’m sure Mikey would join you and teach you the finer points of being a beach bum. 🙂 We have two extra beds…you could have your pick.

  19. Whitney Says:

    Thing. I meant THING. I mean…I don’t think!

  20. urbino Says:

    But McCain is filled with rage? Contemptuous of his enemies? Deeply corrupt?

    I’ll let Ari speak for himself, but, since he hasn’t yet, I’ll offer my own thoughts.

    McCain’s temper is legendary. Most of his colleagues, even in his own party, find him abrasive. He shouts curses and belittling names at people when they rub him the wrong way, often just by disagreeing with him over a policy. He is, apparently, widely regarded as pretty unpleasant to work with.

    As for the corruption, that’s a word capable of several meanings, and I’m not sure which one Ari had in mind. McCain was, of course, one of the Keating Five.

  21. urbino Says:

    Obama–where’s any substance?

    He’s made quite a lot of substantive speeches. If you haven’t heard them, check his website; he has tons of policy specifics, there.

  22. msmiranda Says:

    Yeah, I agree that the “Obama is all talk” meme is overblown. It’s kind of a damned if you do, damned if you don’t thing — if he gave speeches full of policy specifics, he’d be accused of being boring and wonky (which as we all know, does not win elections). His Web site is just as detailed as Hillary’s with respect to policy.

Leave a Reply

