Phoning It In Again

by

Fuel pumps cost considerably more in Malibu than they do anywhere else in the world. So does labor for auto repairs. So I had to do some soul searching yesterday. I actually asked myself this question: is it worth paying these prices to live in Malibu?

Yes. Yes it is.

It was a busy weekend, what with having to walk everywhere, and so I haven’t the time to put together a coherent post about Greenspan’s new book or Secretary of State Rice ringing the opening bell on Wall Street or the big meeting at the U.N. about global warning (although, I’m giving myself a pass here, since the leader of our own nation couldn’t find the time for that.)

I don’t even have the time to put together a witty post asking Joe and Whitney if they are still mad at the Texans for drafting whatshisname instead of Reggie Bush.

So I’ll once again just throw up a random link and hope you find some sort of enjoyment out of it. Here are some drivers who will likely spend much more on car repairs than I did yesterday. And while they’re waiting on their cars to get fixed, they probably won’t get to sit next to Robert Downey, Jr.

Enjoy laughing at other people!

16 Responses to “Phoning It In Again”

  1. mrspeacock Says:

    Did you truly sit next to Robert Downey, Jr.? I might hate you.

  2. michaellasley Says:

    I actually see him quite a bit — I’ve actually talked to him before.

  3. Whitney Says:

    Funny. Joe swore off the Texans when they passed on Vince Young; but it was funny to me because he went to the Titans (right?) which used to be the Houston Oilers, who he (Joe) LOVED.

    Me, on the other hand…I could not possibly care any less. I dislike NFL football as much as a person can.

    Anyway, it’s a good thing your post is about nothing, because that makes it really easy for me to respond without having to think. Your posts are certainly my favorite.

    I think you should start posting about the famous people you see and your interactions with them. I’m a glutton for celebrity gossip. It’s a truly disgusting guilty pleasure (that and the train wreck of a show called “The Bachelor”).

    See, I started out with no point….and ended up at the same place. That must make it a completely coherent post. 🙂 Wave hi to SoCal for me.

  4. urbino Says:

    I actually see him quite a bit — I’ve actually talked to him before.

    I’ve heard you could get high just standing downwind of him.

  5. michaellasley Says:

    Well, Vince is another story altogether. He’s a great player and is helping his team win. Bush is a great player, but his team is still terrible. Whathisname plays defense, so noone cares. Although his team is markedly improved this year.

    I’m not sure how to take your compliment of writing your favorite posts. Thanks, though. I take compliments when I can get ’em.

    JU — I think you’re right. I wanted to ask him if I could raid his pharmacopeia (or however you spell that).

  6. Whitney Says:

    Just meant they’re usually light-hearted and fun to read.

    Re: NFL–if Vince & Adrian Peterson were on the same team, I might have to watch.

  7. michaellasley Says:

    I was just joking, Whitney. I’m not good at taking compliments.

    Peterson is incredible. Does Joe know you like someone from Oklahoma? Is that allowed? Also, ESPN had a really good segment on Vince earlier today. Hope you and Joe get a chance to watch it.

  8. urbino Says:

    I have to confess having had low expectations of Vince when he was drafted. He just didn’t look like he’d be any kind of a passer in the pros. His mechanics are still terrible, but he’s getting the overall job done so far, he’s been a good leader, and he’s a lot of fun to watch. I do think the jury’s still out, though, on whether he’ll be a winning QB over the long term.

    Haven’t seen much of Adrian Peterson in the pros, but I always thought he’d do well. Thought it ever since his freshman year as an Okie, actually. How’s his year going?

  9. Whitney Says:

    Does Joe know? OHHHH yeah. Did you know I’m a Sooner? Born ‘n’ raised in Oklahoma, totally brainwashed OU alum. Joe’s a totally brainwashed Texas alum, so it makes our fall very interesting and very, very, very fun! Oh…oh…oh….AND—Joe has A.P. on his fantasy team! Hmmmmm…

    I’ve thought Vince was awesome since UT beat USC in the Rose Bowl. (The best game I’ve ever seen.) I don’t know how he’s doing as a pro.

    Where’s Baby Kangaroo to comment?

  10. michaellasley Says:

    Did I know you were an Okie? I’m not entirely sure I knew that.

    I’m not sure Joe is allowed to have AP on his fantasy team. Has he no integrity?

    Vince is proving to be a wonderful pro QB and leader.

    I think AP had at least one big Sunday, but he’s stuck on a bad team right now, and I haven’t paid much attention to the NFL the past two weeks. At least not to individual performances.

  11. urbino Says:

    There’s 2 Adrian Petersons in the league right now, right? One’s a backup for the Bears, and the other is from OOOOOOOklahoma-where-the-wind-comes-sweeping-down-the-plains. Correct?

  12. alsturgeon Says:

    Did I mention I met Pamela Anderson in Malibu? 🙂

    2-3 years ago when some guys from church went to Atlanta for a Braves game in the church van, we came scary close to adding a picture to your post. Imagine a 15-passenger church van standing straight up on a sidewalk (rear bumper on the ground, front bumper to the sky). It didn’t happen, but we were within inches of making the cut.

  13. mrspeacock Says:

    Vince? Reggie? Adrian? I’m lost. Let’s talk about Robert Downey, Jr. again.

  14. urbino Says:

    Welcome back, Chica Peacock. How was the mountain?

  15. mrspeacock Says:

    Thanks! It’s good to be back. The mountain was tall, cold, and beautiful. I think I’ll write a post about it tonight.

  16. urbino Says:

    Sounds like some women I’ve known.

    Looking forward to the post.

Leave a Reply

