This One’s for All the Marbles

by

As Whitney alluded to in a comment to another post, I’m on the road this week. I’m posting this from Annapolis, Maryland after starting out the morning in San Diego. Why is it that travel takes so much out of us? I just want to take a nap before watching the home run derby tonight.

In light of my state of rest, I’ll just post this link to an excellent article about the Iraq situation from Victor Davis Hanson. It’s a good recap of how we got into Iraq in the first place and he finishes with some sobering thoughts. I sure wish the president would speak as bluntly as VDH does here.

9 Responses to “This One’s for All the Marbles”

  1. Al Sturgeon Says:

    Hey Joe! What’s up with the Karl Rove story?

    I admittedly don’t keep up with politics that much, but that one caught my eye. How will the White House respond to this story?

  2. DeJon Redd Says:

    Joe, I just left Annapolis last week. Wish we could’ve timed that better.

  3. DeJon Redd Says:

    Al, speaking of Karl Rove – I found this post discussing the White House’ conundrum. Pretty funny stuff

  4. Al Sturgeon Says:

    That is good!

    And, of course, I’m more interested in humor than the actual facts anyway, so Joe doesn’t really have to bother with responding.
    🙂

    Did you watch the Derby last night, DeJon? Was Abreu nuts or what?

  5. Joe Longhorn Says:

    Al,
    I think this article pretty closely sums up my feelings about the Rove issue.

    Another take from Cliff May:
    “Two possibilities and a world of difference between them:

    1) Rove knowingly exposed a covert CIA agent as a way to “punish” Joe Wilson.

    2) Rove was asked why the Bush administration would send someone like Joe Wilson to Africa on a secret mission for the CIA. Rove answered: “We didn’t. His wife works at the CIA. She got him the assignment.”

    If it’s (1) Rove did wrong and probably deserves to be prosecuted.

    If it’s (2) Rove was merely telling the truth to a reporter about a curious situation — unusual perhaps, but hardly criminal or even scandalous.

    I know which I think is more likely. I’m not sure that will matter much to the MSM which smells blood in the water.”

  6. DeJon Redd Says:

    Al, I believe the Home Run Derby is everything the Slam Dunk Contest tries to be but fails.

    For a few short moments I wondered if Bobby Abreu is mortal.

  7. Al Sturgeon Says:

    Hey Joe and DeJon!

    Did you get and/or respond to any emails from me regarding a few Housefly changes in the air?

    My email has been suspicious lately, so either its screwy or you’re ignoring me! I can deal with either one – just wondering which it is!!!

    Yours,
    Al

  8. DeJon Redd Says:

    I did not rec’v said messages.

  9. Joe Longhorn Says:

    Al,
    Got the e-mail, but I’ve been on the road. Just got back to the home address yesterday. I liked option two, the one with new blood. Should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

