Feeling the Rush

by

I am currently in the bowels of that infernal land known as reviewing for the bar. I’m sorry to make excuses, as I know my fellow bloggers are also busy, but I’ll give you the bare bones of what I was going to write about, and you can respond how you like.

I thought I’d throw in a pigskin article to break the midsummer monotony. I was going to discuss what makes a good QB, then give you my top five of all time. Instead, I’ll just give you the list:

1. John Elway
2. Joe Montana
3. Brett Favre
4. Dan Marino
5. Peyton Manning

Feel free to post your list and/or what you think separates the immortals from the pack.

4 Responses to “Feeling the Rush”

  1. Al Sturgeon Says:

    Well, I’m an old Roger Staubach fan, but I have to admit that it would be hard to break into that list…

    Different types of QBs exist, tho…

    SCRAMBLERS:
    1. Elway
    2. Staubach

    GRITTY LEADERS:
    1. Favre
    2. Montana

    STEP BACK AND FIRE:
    1. Marino
    2. Peyton Manning

    I’m with you on Elway overall, though – he qualifies as top 3 on all 3 categories…

  2. juvenal_urbino Says:

    I always get into trouble on this subject. Nonetheless…

    I agree with Al that it depends on how you define the QB position. I list them here in the order I think they’re important to the position.

    Passers:
    1. Marino
    2. Moon
    3. P. Manning
    4. Elway

    Leaders:
    1. Montana
    2. Starr
    3. Staubach
    4. Favre

    Scramblers:
    1. Young
    2. Tarkenton
    3. Favre
    4. Marino

    Runners:
    1. Young
    2. Cunningham
    3. Elway
    4. Favre

    I know, I know. Marino? On a scramblers list? Here’s the deal. To me, scrambling is buying time in order to get off a good pass, not trying to gain yardage on foot (running). Marino was a horrible runner, but he was brilliant at moving within the pocket to buy time.

    Overall, I give the nod to Marino. (Full disclosure: I’m a Dolfan.) Why? Not because of any of the numbers, but simply because I’ve never seen any other QB make so many plays, week after week, I didn’t think were possible. For 6 years in the 80s, he was Koufax.

  3. juvenal_urbino Says:

    I guess Ken Stabler would have to be on the Scramblers list somewhere, too.

  4. desarrollo web Says:

    cool!

Leave a Reply

